Rolled vegetable gnocchi with tamarind béchamel sauce

I have become obsessed with rolled gnocchi’s. If you have tried it already, you will agree, it can get quite addictive, especially since it is quite easy to make!

Day before yesterday, my mind was on making this delightful ‘pasta’ again. As I rummaged through the fridge, I realised that though I did not have portobello mushrooms, I had green bell pepper and juicy red tomatoes. These two ingredients coupled with red onions are a safe, fail-proof combination. Having said this, these became my ingredients for the gnocchi filling.

Unlike my previous gnocchi experiment where I made cilantro oil, this time around I wanted saucy goodness to accompany my dish. So I opted for béchamel sauce. Being a curious monkey, I was keen on adding a twist to the classic white sauce; so I tried to make tamarind béchamel sauce.

Now, if you are currently raising your eyebrows and wondering how that turned out, rest assured, it was super hit. Not only me, but even my colleagues loved it when I took it for lunch the following day! So it is a tried and tested dish, with happy approvals.

Whats more, this dish has no cheese. I.e. satisfaction guaranteed and health in check!

Rolled vegetable gnocchi with tamarind béchamel sauce

Ingredients:

Gnocchi:

  • Starchy potatoes – 2 medium, boiled and peeled
  • Plain flour – 1/2 cup
  • Green bell pepper – 1 small, diced
  • Red onion – 1 small, diced
  • Tomato – 1 small, diced
  • Salt – to taste
  • Black pepper powder – to taste
  • Sugar – a pinch (optional)
  • Butter – 1/2 tbsp
  • Extra virgin olive oil

Tamarind béchamel sauce:

Method:

Gnocchi:

  • For the filling, heat butter in a frypan over medium heat and add onions and bell pepper
  • Fry until onions become semi-translucent and add tomato; sauté for 2-3 minutes
  • Add salt, sugar and black pepper powder; mix well
  • Remove from heat and set aside
  • For the gnocchi, finely mash potatoes in a bowl, ensuring there is no lump
  • Add flour, 1 tsp olive oil and salt (to taste) and stir to combine
  • Mix dough with light hands so that it does not become too dense
  • Dough should be loosely formed; soft and light
  • Lay a piece of saran wrap on a work surface
  • Place dough on top and roll it out into a rectangle, spreading it to 1 cm thickness
  • Add stuffing and evenly spread across the rolled potato
  • Roll tightly into a log and secure ends to make a firm roll
  • Bring a saucepan of water to a boil over high heat
  • Add potato roll and cook until set; this should take about 15-20 minutes
  • Whilst the gnocchi roll is cooking in water, prepare the sauce (as indicated below)
  • Remove gnocchi log from water, unwrap plastic and slice the gnocchi into 2 cm thick discs
  • Tip: use lightly greased knife for slicing
  • Heat olive oil in a pan over medium flame
  • Gently add gnocchi slices and fry until lightly brown on both sides
  • Set gnocci slices onto an absorbing paper to drain excess oil

Tamarind béchamel sauce:

  • Mix 3/4 tbsp tamarind sauce to 1 cup béchamel sauce
  • Taste and check if more tamarind is required
  • If yes, add in more sauce till the balance is approved by your taste buds
  • Whisk well

To serve:

  • Drizzle tamarind béchamel sauce onto the plate
  • Place the gnocchi slices on the sauce
  • Serve hot

Leave a comment