Homemade honeycomb

When I was a kid there were a select few chocolate treats that I would indulge in: Cadbury gems (specifically the pink and orange candy coated ones – my dad would sieve these ones out just for me), Cadbury fruit and nut (because that was/is my mums favourite and I automatically liked whatever she did) and Cadbury Crunch, because the combination of crunchy golden honeycomb with chocolate was way too irresistible.

Truth be told, I still love Cadbury Crunch and usually stock up on these for “emergency” needs. But you know how your stocked up goodies is never at our disposal when you really need it? This is exactly what happened over the weekend. I was super craving it but alas there were none for me to feast on!

Stubborn as I am, I thought okay lets see if it can be home made. And to my absolute surprise I learnt that it is really easy to make! The down side was that all recipes called for a lot of golden syrup – which is a) really not healthy and b) not an ingredient I keep.

So I figured, why not replace golden syrup with honey? It is after all, “honey”comb.

And as they say the rest is history. I came up with my own concoction and minutes later I was proudly staring at delicious, light, crunchy honeycomb made by moi.

And now, I am so excited to share it on my blog so that you can have a go at making it too !

img_0531

Ingredients:

  • Pure honey: 1/4 cup
  • Sugar: 3/4 cup
  • Baking soda: 1/2 tbsp

Method:

  • Keep a silpat mat or a tray lined with parchment paper ready
  • Sift baking soda into a small bowl and keep aside
  • In a deep pot, add sugar and honey, and give it a good mix with a spatula to ensure homogeneity
  • Heat the sugar-honey mixture under medium flame, stirring occasisonally
  • Switch off the flame once the sugar completely dissolves and the mixture starts caramelising (this is indicated by the change in color to a darker brown)
  • Quickly dump the baking soda and stir continuously, till the powder dissolves well. Be careful at this step as the mixture will bubble up (which is why you need a deep pot)
  • Immediately pour the mixture onto a silpat mat or a tray lined with parchment paper and allow it to cool (or stick it in the fridge to cool, if your surrounding is too hot/humid)
  • Once cooled, break the honeycomb into bite-sized pieces and enjoy!
  • Store the leftovers in an airtight container

13 thoughts on “Homemade honeycomb

  1. I love love love Cadbury’s Crunch, that was always my favorite as a kid and I still love it today…only problem is Cadbury’s now skimp a bit on the size of chocolate and on the honeycomb 😦 😦 😦
    Looking forward to trying out your recipe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment